Seeking nominations for 2013 Southcott awards.

SOUTHCOTT AWARDS 2013: Call for Nominations


The Newfoundland Historic Trust is announcing its call for nomination for the 2013 Southcott Awards.

The Southcott Awards were established in 1984 by The Trust to recognize those who have demonstrated excellence in building design, preservation and restoration of the architectural heritage of Newfoundland and Labrador.

The quality of our architectural heritage has come to be one of the defining aspects of Newfoundland and Labrador. The Historic Trust has been instrumental in establishing that definition, but our award winners over the past twenty-nine year have made that definition a reality.

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2013 Southcott Awards in following categories:

Building Restoration / Preservation – Nominations are considered for finished architectural restoration projects. The committee considers architectural design, quality of conservation work, preservation of original features, use of traditional materials, and the integrity of the structure and its surrounding site.

New Building Design -Contemporary, high quality building design has the power to encourage economic development and improve the quality of life for residents in an area. Such design may address issues of sustainability and encourage community renewal. This nomination is for individuals or organizations that have completed an architectural design project sensitive to the heritage character of the surrounding environment.

Heritage Craftsperson/ Tradesperson – This award will recognize the skill and contribution of an individual in the craft or trade professions in heritage conservation. The individual must work using specialist and traditional methods and exhibit a high standard of craftsmanship. Individual tradespersons, architects, or other heritage professionals having completed exemplary work relating to the conservation, preservation or restoration of a heritage structure are eligible for nomination.

Further information and to download nomination forms please visit the Southcott Awards section of our site or click below to access the various nomination forms. You can also contact our office via e-mail, or call 709.739.7870. All completed applications submitted by May 3, 2013

Applications should be mailed to the address below:
Newfoundland Historic Trust
P.O. Box 2403
St. John’s, NL A1C 6E7

The Selection Committee reserves the right to not give an award in a category.

The Southcott Awards are named for one of the most important nineteenth century Newfoundland building firms: J. and J.T. Southcott. We know them today principally for the Second Empire designs of J.T.’s architect son, John. The characteristics of this style are concave, curved mansard roofs with hooded dormers in the mansard. While the style started with the development of the Southcott properties at Park Place on Rennie’s Mill Road in St. John’s, they spread throughout the whole colony. Many examples of this style remain intact today. However, the Southcott Awards recognize and celebrate numerous architectural styles visible throughout the province.

Nomination Forms:

Heritage Restoration/ Preservation (pdf)

Heritage Craftsperson/ Tradesperson (pdf)

New Building Design (pdf)

 ….we have been proud supporters of the Newfoundland Historic Trust and the Southcott Awards since 1990! You should support this organization and its work in the preservation, education and advocacy for Newfoundland and Labrador’s architectural history and culture. BECOME A MEMBER!

This entry was posted in Stray Light Media, The Blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .